The Constitutional guidelines for the Commission are found in Section 118 of the Cayman Islands Constitution Order 2009 (“the Constitution”) which reads as follows:
  1. There shall be in and for the Cayman Islands a Constitutional Commission.
  2. The Constitutional Commission shall consist of a Chairman and two other members appointed by the Governor, acting after consultation with the Premier and the Leader of the Opposition, at least one of whom shall be an experienced lawyer.
  3. The functions of the Constitutional Commission shall be—
    • (a) to advise the Government on questions concerning constitutional status and development in the Cayman Islands;
    • (b) to publish reports, discussion papers, information papers and other documents on constitutional matters affecting the Cayman Islands;
    • (c) to promote understanding and awareness of this Constitution and its values; and
    • (d) to exercise such other functions as may be prescribed by a law enacted by the Legislature.
  4. In the exercise of their functions, the Constitutional Commission and its members shall not be subject to the direction or control of any other person or authority.
  5. Subject to this Constitution, further provision relating to the establishment and operation of the Constitutional Commission may be made by the Legislature.